P.O.: Bongaon, Dist: North 24 Parganas, Pin: 743235,
West Bengal, India. Email: info@dinabandhumahavidyalaya.org

About the Department

About the department – Established in 1961, the department of Political Science offers under-graduate courses under the West Bengal State University, Barasat. The department is currently managed by four teachers, out of which three teachers are on substantive posts and one part-time teacher. The focus of the department is not just on textual knowledge and the art of writing good answers but also on the value and importance of literary awareness. The department has a well-equipped library and the teachers of the department guide students to make the best possible use of the books available and the internet. Since guidance from the parents’ and guardians are essential the department tries to interact by extending them invitation to interact with the teachers as and when necessary. Students are encouraged to take part in extra-curricular activities as quiz, debate and mock-parliament. These activities are encouraged to enhance the confidence of the students and to have a greater grasp over the subject matter by widening their vision. The students’ are also encouraged to present answers in the classrooms as a preparatory step to research activities in future. Special Lectures are periodically arranged by the department to enlighten the students on various aspects of the course by academicians from different colleges. The department conducts tutorials at regular intervals to evaluate student progression.